Yay! The first post.

Tuesday, August 1st at 6:32 pm Leave a comment

the eraser albumcdBuying albums is coming back into style for me. Remember that? With the Walkman? Having to switch out CDs and carrying around that little black flip book? But I miss the whole hour-of-absorption experience, and so bought Thom Yorke’s The Eraser (which is suspiciously barely over 40 minutes in run time, but I forgive him). I had read that the album was B-grade, essentially sounding like Thom without Radiohead (but isn’t that obvious?). First impression: the album title bugged me a bit at first. How could that compare to Kid A? Amnesiac? Elusive album titles kill me. This just seemed too obvious.

Wasn’t that impressed during the first listen, except for track 2, Analyse. I’m not that big of a NIN fan, but there are a handful of theirs that I love, and Analyse immediately reminded me of one of these–Right Where it Belongs (the piano, I guess). After listening to the CD again, I added a few more to the Yeah, it’s Pretty Good mental list: Black Swan, Skip Divided, Harrowdown Hill. But really, it feels like Thom’s trying to get somewhere he doesn’t belong.

Entry filed under: albums, music.

Let’s set our house on fire…twice.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August

August 2006
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

About

Hi! I'm Rachel, and this is my blog. I've tended to assume that if I ever blogged, it'd be a sappy diary. But based on what I've favored reading in other posts, I'm going to do this instead: pluck out isolated, varied things/ideas/experiences I find engrossing, try to choose the few right words out of a potential million, and hopefully cleanse my writing skills in the process. Because, you know, when I was little and was questioned about a future career, my answer was typically: "I'm going to be an author."

Oh, and I'm an aspiring film connoisseur. See my ratings at IMDB.

Recent Posts

RSS last.fm Recently Played

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 600 hits

