Catching the Bomb in Britain

Thursday, August 10th at 1:21 pm Leave a comment

transmit.pngFrom the Aircraft Bomb Plot Thwarted in Britain article in the NY Times:

Hannah Pillinger, 24, seemed less concerned by the announcement. ”Eight hours without an iPod, that’s the most inconvenient thing,” she said, waiting at the Manchester airport.

Are you even kidding me? That’s the most inconvenient thing? (Maybe Apple should hire her as a spokeswoman.) Part of me hopes that she was simply misquoted, or that her statement was somehow taken out of a more logical context. How embarrassing; doesn’t being within the vicinity of an almost-executed mass-murder plot not put things into, say, even a little more perspective than that?

Furthermore, it wouldn’t hurt her to ditch the mp3 player for one flight and explore other forms of passing time: reading or sleeping being the most obvious, and I’m fairly sure most extended flights screen in-flight movies. The longest flight I’ve endured was under six hours, so maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about—those extra two hours must be painfully unbearable without music (yes, that’s sarcasm). If I had to choose between boring, extremely tight security versus a greater probability of experiencing traumatic group death, it wouldn’t even take me a moment to decide. And you wouldn’t hear a peep of “inconvenient” out of me.

Entry filed under: news, travel.

When two equaled one Easy on the eyes…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August

August 2006
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

About

Hi! I'm Rachel, and this is my blog. I've tended to assume that if I ever blogged, it'd be a sappy diary. But based on what I've favored reading in other posts, I'm going to do this instead: pluck out isolated, varied things/ideas/experiences I find engrossing, try to choose the few right words out of a potential million, and hopefully cleanse my writing skills in the process. Because, you know, when I was little and was questioned about a future career, my answer was typically: "I'm going to be an author."

Oh, and I'm an aspiring film connoisseur. See my ratings at IMDB.

Recent Posts

RSS last.fm Recently Played

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 600 hits

