the future is bright…

Wednesday, February 14th at 6:17 pm Leave a comment

Up until now I had tenatively assumed my spring plan would be like this: stop my current job before the end of the quarter to devote all my time to school, start looking for a design job, graduate, hopefully get interviews, and start working. And throw a short vacation into the mix.

Today I’ve revised the plan. Happily. But it’s also a lot less practical and probably too idealistic. On the other hand, never say never, right? So now I’m thinking:

Devote time to learning more Flash/web things (technically) and create more pieces for example work. Work fewer hours during the end of spring quarter (but don’t quit). Graduate (yay!) and continue working at my current job — but maybe 25 or 30 hours, not 40 like I did last summer. With my extra hours, become a freelance web designer. And if I’m lucky (because they always say luck has so much to do with it) and things get off the ground, then transition to having my own business, and eventually leaving the current job.

This thinking came about because my boss came downstairs to ask me today what my summer plans were and said that they would be happy if I stayed working there after the spring.

We’ll see. I can be hopeful, can’t i?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

1.5 quarters left. taking care of business

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

About

Hi! I'm Rachel, and this is my blog. I've tended to assume that if I ever blogged, it'd be a sappy diary. But based on what I've favored reading in other posts, I'm going to do this instead: pluck out isolated, varied things/ideas/experiences I find engrossing, try to choose the few right words out of a potential million, and hopefully cleanse my writing skills in the process. Because, you know, when I was little and was questioned about a future career, my answer was typically: "I'm going to be an author."

Oh, and I'm an aspiring film connoisseur. See my ratings at IMDB.

Recent Posts

RSS last.fm Recently Played

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 600 hits

